When is the start of 2019-20 PSL season and which matches will be played first?

Card image

BetOdds PSL Mamelodi Sundowns Polokwane City Stellenbosch Maritzburg United SuperSport United Bidvest Wits Kaizer Chiefs AmaZulu Baroka Orlando Pirates Cape Town City Highlands Park Black Leopards Bloemfontein Celtic Golden Arrows

Goal takes a look at everything you need to know ahead of the 2019-20 PSL season, including dates, venues and fixtures for the opening matches

The Premier Soccer League (PSL) is already preparing for the upcoming season and there is some exciting news in store. 

The PSL is considered one of the best leagues in the world due to world-class facilities and the financial strength of the competition. 

Mamelodi Sundowns are successfully defending their league title, bringing their overall league titles to nine since the inception of the PSL in 1996. 

Soweto giants Orlando Pirates and Kaizer Chiefs have not won silverware since 2014 and 2015 respectively, and they will be eager to make it count this time around. 

Goal takes a look at everything you need to know ahead of the 2019-20 PSL season, including its start date and fixtures for the opening matches. 

PSL chairman Dr Irvin Khoza has already confirmed the 2019-20 season will get underway on the first weekend of August 2019. It will conclude on May 9, 2020. 

Next season will also see the PSL increase the prize money for the champions from R10 million to R15 million. 

The MTN8 will kick off a week after the start of the league campaign, but all eyes will be on the league, especially with all the incentives that should keep everyone on their toes from the word go. 

Sundowns coach Pitso Mosimane admitted that winning back-to-back titles was difficult, but he would certainly be looking to help his side pocket the R15 million prize money come May 2020. 

No less than five matches will take place on Saturday, the 3rd of August 2019 and with the remaining three fixtures taking place on Sunday, the 4th of August 2019.    

Fixtures for the first matches of the 2019-20 season have also been released, and football can look forward to some exciting encounters all-round. 

On the menu are three local derbies, namely, the Tshwane Derby, Limpopo Derby as well as the KwaZulu-Natal Derby. 

Amakhosi will be away from home in their first match of the season, while the Buccaneers will get their season underway in front of their home fans at the Orlando Stadium. 

PSL new boys, Stellenbosch FC, have been handed an away fixture and so is Bidvest Wits who have to travel to Durban to face AmaZulu in their opening match of the campaign.      



Send Your Comment

We'll never share your email with anyone else.



BetOdds24 App

Contact us

Facebook @BetOdds24 UberApps Play Store [email protected]
Betodds24 Twitter@BetOdds24
Google Play Google Play
®All Rights Reserved of Copyright ©www.Betodds24.com 2019